First Pregnancy Pregnancy

13 weeks…and the man behind the belly

I happened upon this shirt from Jelly Bean Apparel and decided to get it for James as a first Father’s Day present. I think he got a kick out of it, and I told him that he can’t actually wear it until I actually have a bump. But the next morning I woke up to find he’d worn it to his 6am bootcamp. I asked him if his bootcampers got the shirt, or even knew I was pregnant. And he said they knew I was pregnant, but they thought the shirt had more to do with him running a gym and trying to get people into shape–aka getting a six-pack. I thought that interpretation of the shirt was hilarious!

Today, I’m 13 weeks. Not much to report, but I still feel queasy here and there. I never quite know why, but I do know that if I wait a couple of hours between eating and if I take my vitamins in the morning, I can count on feeling sick. I’m still tired, but at this point, I feel about the same level of tiredness as I did before I was pregnant. Leaving home at 6:30am every morning and getting home at 6:30pm just does a number on a body during the week.

I’m still doing CrossFit workouts, but have cut back to about 3 times a week, which has been more dependent on my weekly softball games and horrendous traffic than my pregnancy. I’m slower at the workouts for sure. Instead of a good time, I’m focusing on a steady pace and taking quick water breaks during the workouts since it’s summer and super hot. So far, this strategy is working nicely, and I’m not thinking about how I added almost two minutes to my Helen time! I’m still doing workouts prescribed, and I don’t see that changing anytime soon. But in our workout on Thursday, I did notice how tight my abs felt when I did kipping pullups. They didn’t hurt, it just felt more difficult to fully open up my hips while kipping. As of Thursday, running had definitely changed for me, too. My bladder constantly felt full, which is quite normal, I hear. Thankfully, we never run long distances in CrossFit, so I can definitely handle 400 meters.



I'm a full-time wife and semi-stay-at-home mom to four young kids. Day to day, I help my husband with his small business, but when I have any extra time, you can find me cooking or being active outdoors with my family. We live at the foothills of the North Georgia mountains and are embracing modern homesteading month by month.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *