Favorite Things

friday’s letters…from james michael

Dear Daddy, mama says she’s tasked you with finding me a Halloween costume this year. When you suggested that I should be a mini you for Halloween, mama frowned. Let’s just go behind her back. I can’t wait to go shirtless half the day, eat every 2 hours, drink a gallon of milk a day and lift all those heavy weights at the gym.

Dear nature, I heart you. I kind of wish I was an animal so I could be outside all day and night. Mama tells me to be careful what I wish for, because it might come true, especially once I hit 15. I have no idea what she’s talking about, but I do know that my favorite time of the week is when me, Mama and Daddy go on our family hike.

Dear crawling, it took me a while to figure you out, but I’m starting to really get around now. Mama sometimes calls me a peg-legged pirate, because I’ll keep one leg out straight instead of being on my knee. What she doesn’t realize is I can do anything from this one-leg-bent, one-leg-straight position. I’m not worried about how fast I can crawl, but how fast I can do everything else I want to do, like sit up, pivot and pull up on things. I really am smarter than I look.

Dear Mama, I know I’ve had a sleep relapse lately, but it’s not my fault, promise. A couple times a night, when I randomly wake up, my mind always wonders what time it is on the bright red digital clock you have in my room. So, of course, I have to roll over and sit up so I can see the time. The only problem is, I never think about laying back down to go to sleep once I’m sitting up.

Dear Athens, I had so much fun during my first UGA tailgating experience. I want to be just like Mama and Daddy and go to college at UGA when I’m older. Mama says this scares her to death, especially if I end up being a mini version of Daddy. But hey, she’s got 18 more years to get used to the idea.

 

Haley

I'm a full-time wife and semi-stay-at-home mom to four young kids. Day to day, I help my husband with his small business, but when I have any extra time, you can find me cooking or being active outdoors with my family. We live at the foothills of the North Georgia mountains and are embracing modern homesteading month by month.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.